The SEAT Supercup Ireland goes into its sixth & final event of the season this Sunday (18th September) with Mondello Park the battleground for a three way title shootout to become the high profile championship’s second champion. While last year’s title, which was won by Niall Murray who has just been crowned British FF1600 Champion, would also be decided at the season finale, this time round the SEAT Ireland backed championship couldn’t have staged a more thrilling conclusion. Erik Holstein leads the standings coming into Rounds 11 & 12 from Niall Quinn & Rod McGovern but with the Top 3 separated by just 6-points the title will go all the way to the final race as 23-points are on offer over the two races.

Driving for reigning champions Murray Motorsport, Holstein has scored points every race notching up the most number of wins of the 10 races so far. With a total of three victories, the most recent of which was claimed at the last encounter which was held at Kirkistown, the Enniscorthy Motor Company backed driver is clearly the target for both his rivals. With dropped scores taken into account, drivers counting their best 11 results of the 12 rounds, the former International Showjumper & Irish Touring Car Champion only has a 3-point advantage over Quinn.

Quinn is somewhat the late arrival to the title battle. Having missed Rounds 3 & 4 at Bishopscourt due to other motorsport commitments, the talented Dunboyne racer has had a great run of results since to put himself within striking distance of achieving a first ever title with a roof over his head. The former A1 Grand Prix driver has two wins to his credit but has been been very tactful in getting his Randridge backed Leon onto the podium with a very impressive tally of 7 podiums from 8 outings.

A driver who went into the final two races of the inaugural SEAT Supercup last October in contention for the title, McGovern is the only other driver along with Holstein who has finished every race in the points. Run by Mick Merrigan Motorsport, the Medical Bank backed driver has a single win to his credit but having claimed his first pole position of the season last time out he is ready to fight for the title. With a bonus championship point on offer for pole position and the fastest lap of each race, these could prove key to deciding the title. The title deciding race, which is scheduled for 17:25, will be streamed live on Mondello TV.

While all the attention will be on the 3 title contenders, the championship will conclude with it’s biggest grid of the 301 Bhp SEAT Sport built cars as a number of drivers rejoin the championship. Having been a strong title contender until he dislocated his shoulder in the days leading up to Rounds 9 & 10 at Kirkistown, Rob Butler is back. While the title is beyond his reach, the find of this year’s championship is determined to end the season with at least a second win to repay the faith shown in him by Dentmagic who came onboard to support his campaign with Murray Motorsport. Another driver returning for the Leinster Trophy meeting is Jonathan Fildes, making it a fullhouse once again in the professionally presented Murray Motorsport awning. Claiming the Yokohama Pole Award on his SEAT debut at Round 5 of the championship, Fildes returns courtesy of luxury County Dublin country estate Finnstown Castle Hotel who are also the presenting sponsors of both SEAT races. Another returnee for the weekend is John Farrelly. Having finished third overall in the 2015 SEAT Supercup, he returns as team-mate to McGovern with Mick Merrigan Motorsport set to run him.

Leave a Reply