Alastair Seeley To Make Bishopscourt Masters Championship Debut


Having dominated the Mondello Masters when it was first introduced a series of one-off races, Alastair Seeley will finally make his Masters Superbike Championship debut this weekend at Bishopscourt Co. Down. Seeley will be the star attraction at the annual Bishopscourt rounds which take place on Sunday August 20th.

Since Seeley’s last appearance, at Mondello Park in 2009, the Masters has changed from a winner takes all Grand Final, which was run three times per season, into a seven event Championship which this season will be made up of twenty rounds on three different circuits.

Seeley will make his Championship debut, for the IFS Yamaha team, riding the teams R1 Superbike previously ridden by Ryan Rainey. Rainey took the only Masters win of his Superbike comeback on the Bishopscourt circuit in 2015 and the team will be looking to continue their winning ways having also won at the track in 2016 with Robert English on board.

Seeley will race twice in the Superbike class at Bishopscourt as well as in the Norman Brown Trophy race for the top Superbike and Supersport competitors, and will come up against some strong Yamaha mounted opposition. The championship top two, Richie Ryan and Charles Stuart, are also R1 mounted and these two have shared the last seven Masters race wins between them. Cody Nally made a return to form at the last Mondello Park event and he cannot be discounted for a race win. Also aiming to beat Seeley will be Luke Johnston with his BMW and Gerard Kinghan who returns to the series with his Kawasaki.

The Supersport battle took a new turn at Mondello Park two weeks ago when Kia McGreevy became the first rider to win a Supersport race outright competing as a ‘Cup’ rider. The youngster mastered the soaking wet conditions to take the win by a huge margin leaving the championship top dogs Jason Lynn and Ross Patterson to fight over the runner up spot. McGreevy will be joined on the grid this weekend by the aforementioned championship front runners, along with double 2017 Masters race winner Korie McGreevy and the returning Mark Conlin who will race at the Masters for the first time in three years.

The Bishopscourt Masters rounds will also include two races each for Principal Insurance Pre-Injection, Supertwins, Production Twins and Lightweight Supersport as well as the feature event of the day the Norman Brown Trophy Grand Final.

For further information on the Masters Superbike Championship see the series’ web site

Leave a Reply