2017 Indianapolis 500 full entry list announced.


The IndyCar Series has announced the final 33-car entry list for the 2017 Indianapolis 500.

Confirmation of 1996 winner Buddy Lazier’s Lazier Partners Racing programme completed the list of contenders for the 101st edition of the legendary race.

Lazier is one of seven previous Indy 500 winners in the field, along with Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves and Juan Pablo Montoya, Ganassi duo Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan, last year’s victor Alexander Rossi and his Andretti Autosport team-mate Ryan Hunter-Reay.

But the driver getting the majority of attention in the build-up has been an IndyCar novice with an illustrious pedigree – double Formula 1 world champion Fernando Alonso skipping the Monaco Grand Prix to contest Indianapolis with Andretti Autosport.

Practice commences on Monday, with qualifying taking place across both days of next weekend.


No.  Driver              Team                                  Engine
 1   Simon Pagenaud      Team Penske                           Chevrolet
 2   Josef Newgarden     Team Penske                           Chevrolet
 3   Helio Castroneves   Team Penske                           Chevrolet
 4   Conor Daly          AJ Foyt Racing                        Chevrolet
 5   James Hinchcliffe   Schmidt Peterson Motorsports          Honda
 7   Mikhail Aleshin     Schmidt Peterson Motorsports          Honda
 8   Max Chilton         Chip Ganassi Racing                   Honda
 9   Scott Dixon         Chip Ganassi Racing                   Honda
10   Tony Kanaan         Chip Ganassi Racing                   Honda
11   Spencer Pigot       Juncos Racing                         Chevrolet
12   Will Power          Team Penske                           Chevrolet
14   Carlos Munoz        AJ Foyt Racing                        Chevrolet
15   Graham Rahal        Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing        Honda
16   Oriol Servia        Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing        Honda
17   Sebastian Saavedra  Juncos/AFS Racing                     Chevrolet
18   Sebastien Bourdais  Dale Coyne Racing                     Honda
19   Ed Jones            Dale Coyne Racing                     Honda
20   Ed Carpenter        Ed Carpenter Racing                   Chevrolet
21   JR Hildebrand       Ed Carpenter Racing                   Chevrolet
22   Juan Pablo Montoya  Team Penske                           Chevrolet
24   Sage Karam          Dreyer & Reinbold/Kingdom Racing      Chevrolet
26   Takuma Sato         Andretti Autosport                    Honda
27   Marco Andretti      Andretti Autosport                    Honda
28   Ryan Hunter-Reay    Andretti Autosport                    Honda
29   Fernando Alonso     McLaren Honda Andretti Autosport      Honda
40   Zach Veach          AJ Foyt Racing                        Honda
49   Buddy Lazier        Lazier Partners Racing                Chevrolet
50   Jack Harvey         Andretti Autosport/Mike Shank Racing  Honda
63   Pippa Mann          Dale Coyne Racing                     Honda
77   Jay Howard          Schmidt Peterson Motorsports          Honda
83   Charlie Kimball     Chip Ganassi Racing                   Honda
88   Gabby Chaves        Harding Racing                        Chevrolet
98   Alexander Rossi     Andretti-Herta Autosport              Honda

Leave a Reply